First day as an (almost) Apprentice

Hello internet,

Whoever finds this, congratulations!! You are about to embark on this journey with me! I am documenting what I learn at the WozU pre-apprenticeship program. WozU is a company founded by the co founder of Apple, Steve Wozniak. The company was made to help people get jobs in tech with non-traditional backgrounds. Boy do I fit into that camp.

Let me tell you a bit about myself. I am first generation immigrant, College Drop-out, self taught coder, bootcamp graduate. The list of reasons I should not succeed attaining a tech role goes on and on. WozU's goal is to empower people like me by getting them job ready and help their partner companies fill roles needed.

The reason I am starting this blog is to better understand the concepts I am learning. By explaining them to you, the reader, I am effectively showing what I know; as you can not teach a subject you do not know well.

Well, let's get into it! Let me tell you about my first day! This blog is not going to be very technical mostly about my habits and what happened on the first day. To see more of a tech blog be sure to check out future ones where I deep dive into the topics I learn.

Routine

I woke up at 8:50, knowing I had to be in the zoom at 10am. I set my alarms 30 minutes before I actually need to start getting ready. This is so I have time to actually just lay in bed; I hate just getting up right away. At 9:20 I got ready, fed my cats, changed their litter, and was out the door by 9:45. I drove to Panera where I planned to stay at the entirety of my work day. With two roommates I just have a hard time working at home and Panera has the best bandwith that can actually support being on zoom. With 5 minutes to spare I got myself a tea and joined the zoom room.

Intro and Hiccups

When I first joined we did a quick awkward highschool introductions and got straight into it! Well not really we actually spent the first 3 hours troubleshooting issues with our accounts. This actually gave us a good chance to show our skills on communication and problem-solving so, though it was not a part of a curriculum it was a great experience.

Elevator Pitch

We started to talk a little bit about Elevator pitches and even gave our own. Elevator Pitches are essentially you selling yourself to someone under a minute, imagine you're in an elevator with a hotshot CEO and want to introduce yourself. I was a bit nervous to give mine, so much so that I had to write mine down before I presented. This is something I have to work on. Writing it down or memorizing makes it feel forced and you could totally tell as I presented. Luckily it seems that we will be doing elevator pitches often and I sure need the practice!

Ending the First Day

We spent the last hours reading through the first chapter of material which talks about the three disciplines of Tech. Information systems, computer science, and information technology. I will dive deep into this the next blog post I make. Thought the first day was kind of slow I can't blame them. Everyone in my cohort is starting from a different spot on their journey.

Thank you for reading. I am excited to go on this journey of development and to bring you along with me! Keep an eye out for the next blog see you soon!